Members of independent commissions should be nominated – former EC member


Former member of the Election Commission, Prof Ratnajeevan Hoole, says members of independent commissions should be nominated by civil society, and other stakeholders, instead of being required to send in applications. “If we beg for such appointments, we will be under obligation and cannot be independent,” he said.

After media reported that former Chairman of the Election Commission of Sri Lanka, Mahinda Deshapriya, had reapplied for the post, The Island asked Professor Ratnajeevan Hoole whether he, too, had applied.

Professor Hoole said he believed that civil society, and other stakeholders, should nominate suitable individuals, as intellectuals with even an iota of self-esteem, would not submit applications.Professor Hoole said every member should have an equal say in matters pertaining to the independent commissions although one of them is appointed chairperson.

Incumbent Chairman of the ECSL Nimal Punchihewa echoed Professor Hoole’s sentiments but said that he himself had reapplied for the post at the last moment because he was requested to do so by the stakeholders.

Leave a Reply